Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy  
Wilcox County was formed from parts of Dallas and Monroe counties by an act of the Alabama legislature on Dec. 13, 1819. It was named for Lt. Joseph M. Wilcox who fought in the Creek Wars.

Wilcox County map

The county is located in the south-central part of the state, in the Black Belt region. The county was a center of Alabama antebellum plantation life. Today it is largely agricultural and rural. Wilcox is bordered by Dallas, Lowndes, Butler, Monroe, Clarke, and Marengo counties. The county seat is Camden. Other towns include Alberta, Catherine, Gastonburg, Lower Peach Tree, Millers Ferry, Pine Apple and Snow Hill. (Source: Alabama Department of Archives & History, Alabama History On-Line)

More history of Wilcox County

About Wilcox County
Online Records Online Resources Family Histories Researching Wilcox County

Created: 16 Sep 1996 :: Updated: 13 Mar 2017
Copyright © 1996-2017 by B.J. Smothers. All rights reserved.
Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy